Need advice on powder load and type

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by Jronjakoh, Mar 30, 2007.

1. Jronjakoh

Jronjakoh New Member

My boys bought me a couple of black powder pistols for Xmas and i'm just getting around to trying them out.

Not sure of the load and type of powder to use. Just got the guns and no papers or instructions.

Both are .50 caliber. One is a Kentucky Pistol and the other is a W.Parker. Should I use ffg or fffg powder and what would be a good load. Online suggest 30 gr, for plinking and 40 grn or higher for hunting.

Need some sound advice so as to not 'blow my head off'. I am new to Blackpowder also.
  2. sierra308

sierra308 New Member

I believe the loading manuals say to use 2F in anything .45 cal and up.I always used 3F myself it seemed to shoot better.the powder charges sound right,try a .495 round ball and .015'' patching.You can buy precut,prelubed patches at anyplace that sells black powder supplies.I use Goex black powder and Wonder Lube patches.
  3. polishshooter

polishshooter Active Member

Sierra, I believe it's .50 cal or larger that 2F is recommended, I know 3F is recommended for .45 or less ...even though I use 3F in both my flintlock .45 and my son's .50 caplock Hawken and both work fine. I use 3F in both my .36 and .44 caplock revolvers too. (Mainly because real black powder is getting tougher to find, and more expensive too, so it's easier for me to only have one kind) (BESIDES the4F for my priming powder for the flintlock, which one can is lasting me a LONG time....)

Now if I went to a .54 or a .58, or any smoothbore musket I would use the 2F.

Jron, you should be OK with either 2F or 3F for either of them, just start out on the low side, most people overload their BP guns anyway....the most accurate load will almost always be on the lighter side anyway.