1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

Need advice with o/u

Discussion in 'Large-Bore/Small-Bore Rifle/Shotgun' started by Loaded Willy, Sep 2, 2003.

1. Loaded Willy

Loaded Willy New Member

I am looking into a new 12 ga o/u. I was told that the Ruger Red Label or the Weatherby Orion Upland would be good starter models to shoot Trap and sporting clays. Any suggestions? Also is the 28" the right way to go?
  2. steelshooter

steelshooter New Member

Willy,

I have to say I’m happy that you haven’t been advised to pick up a “trap” gun. You’ll do just fine with a field gun considering that you want to shoot sporting clays too. I’ve been shooting trap for about 25 years now and I think the first question I would be asking myself is. Do you just want to shoot clay targets or would you like to have an upland bird gun that will also do well at the range? If you do, and considering how much you’re talking about spending I’d look real hard at the Benelli Montefeltro or M1. Their light, very fast to the shoulder and point like your finger.

If you really would like a stack barrel and there is nothing wrong with that, I would look first at the Franchi Alcione. For the money I don’t think you could do better. Anyway for the kind of money you’re talking about spending for an over and under my list would be in this order.

Franchi Alcione
    Browning Citori
    Weatherby Orion
    Ruger Red Label

Good luck and let us know what you pick up
  3. bigboom338

bigboom338 New Member

Loaded Willy, Let me be the first to welcome you to TFF we hope you post often and enjoy the site.
    As for the stack barrels, I have never heard a complaint about the Citori's and only a few complaints about the Rugers(mostly that they were Rugers) But I think that any of the guns Steelshooter listed would work for you.