need die sets for OLD pacific power c press

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by derfregal, Feb 5, 2012.

1. derfregal

derfregal New Member

im new to reloading. My dad just gave me his old power "c" press and i want to buy die sets for .40 cal and .223. will any hornady or dillon die set work with this press or do i need to look for a specific die set to work in this press? where do i begin to shop for die sets? like I said, just got the press today so I know near nothing about reloading. thanks for any help you can give!
    derf**out**
  2. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

If its threaded 7/8X14 then yes any die set will fit in it. Also the ram has to be able to accept std shellholders.

Post a few pics of the press. Id be able to tell you yea or nea by lookin at pics of it.
  3. Hawg

Hawg Well-Known Member

4. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

Yep. if thats the one it will indeed.
  5. derfregal

derfregal New Member

gonna get some pics up soon so you can positivelt ID the thing! thanks for the quick and helpful responses!
    derf**out**
  6. derfregal

derfregal New Member

just like new in the box. last used early 70's has some 30-06 and .357 die sets! Could you steer me in the right direction in which die sets to get...is any one better than the next. seems the choices are endless. any input/opinions is/are appreciated.
    derf**out**
    IMAG0629.jpg

IMAG0632.jpg

IMAG0630.jpg

IMAG0631.jpg
  7. cpttango30

cpttango30 Guest

Pacific was purchased by Hornady that is why all their stuff looks like Pacific stuff.
  8. joe45c

joe45c Well-Known Member

drefergal, hopefully your dad is not throwing to the wolves, and he gave you some instructions and reloading manuels with your press.
  9. Bindernut

Bindernut Well-Known Member

That Power-C kit is in really nice shape. A good press and all the rest of the goodies are still very usable too.

And as JLA posted, yes you can use the standard 7/8"-14 dies from any maker in it.