Need help with scope rings on Marlin 336 30-30

Discussion in 'Large-Bore/Small-Bore Rifle/Shotgun' started by renegadederrick, Feb 14, 2012.

1. renegadederrick

renegadederrick Former Guest

Hey Guys,

I bought a Nikon Prostaff 3-9x40 BDC scope today at my local wolly world to start getting ready for this years hunting season, & I need some help picking the right scope rings for it. Well I watched a few youtube vids on it & one thing everyone says is go as low as you can go. When I watched Midways vid on it Larry said if you go too low you will have to dig your cheek into the stock of the rifle to get the proper view of the scope. This is my first time picking this stuff for one of my rifles & I don't want to get it wrong. I will be using Leupold 1 piece scope mount with Leupold 1" scope rings. Thanks!
  2. norahc

norahc Active Member

An hour's drive from the nearest McDonald's
    How would that be different if you used the iron sights? You're not going to get any lower than them.
  3. renegadederrick

I am not sure lol, just don't want to make a mistake.
  4. Country101

Country101 Active Member

Derrick, I dont know what type thye are, but on my 336 I have a set taht you can look through and see the iron sights if you want. They do not put me out of position for a good shot by being too high. I think they work great. Especially on the 30-30, being able to use both is handy since for close range shots in brush, it is easier to look down the iron sights. Just a thought. I dont think I would worry about going too low, though....
  5. The_Rifleman

The_Rifleman New Member

Look like enough room?

I was looking at the 336 on this page;
    Model 336A - Also Available with Mounted Scope
    It looks like a lot of room if the rear sight is removed or your scope's objective bell is far enough forward.