Need Help

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Sherrer1*, Jul 11, 2012.

1. Sherrer1*

Sherrer1* Member

Im new to reloading for my pistol. My question is do I need a die set with a rolling crimp or a tapper crimp for reloading 40 s&w. Using a single stage press for now but do plan on moving to a progressive soon.
  2. gary0529

gary0529 Member

You will use a taper crimp--I doubt you can purchase a roll crimp in the seating die-the die makers have fixed this conundrum for you.

Usually semi-auto cases that headspace on the mouth of the case use a taper crimp.

Not to sound chippy but get a good reloading book or 3 and read, read read and don't take everything on the web as gospel until you have some experience under your belt and/or a very experienced mentor to help you.

Gary
  3. howlnmad

howlnmad Well-Known Member

:yeahthat: And stick with bottom end loads for the time being until you get a bit more proficient. And ask lots of questions.
  4. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

I used a LEE single stage press for about 30 years before I got a progressive. A good single stage will last a lifetime, I still use that LEE for some of my loading. I agree with howlnmad about sticking with the lower end loads to start with.
  5. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

.40 like most rimless straightwall pistol headspaces off of the mouth; .423" is what the case mouth should be (diameter). Loading a bunch today. Case length is .850
  6. steve4102

steve4102 Former Guest