Need Help

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by springerbuster, Sep 11, 2009.

1. springerbuster

springerbuster New Member

I am new to reloading and have a question on resizing. I have just set up my new Hornady LNL press and have ran about 1000 rds of once fired 223 brass through my full length resizing die. Before priming or charging I thought I would try to chamber them in my AR15. They seem to chamber rather hard and do not want to eject. I have a hard time getting them to extract. The factory ammo that I have chambers normally. I should add that I also trimmed the cases to 1.745 inches so I know that they are not to long. I then took 10 rds and ran them through the sizing die for a second time and they seem to chamber fine. My question is, is this normal? Shouldn't one time through the sizing die be enough? I should also add that the brass was originally fired in the same gun. Any help would be appreciated.
  2. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

springerbuster, welcome to the forum, hope you stick around.

I will say this and I don't know if it would matter (but it might) the TRIM TO length for .223 service rifle (AR 15) is 1.750 so they may actually be too short for the extractor to grab them when chambered without a bullet.

NO, you do not have to run them through the resizer twice. It is possible that when you resized them the second time, it stretched the neck just enough for the extractor to get grab them the second time you tried.

This is just my opinion on the reason, but I am sure someone will come along and be able to give you a good answer.
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2009
  3. springerbuster

Thanks gmoody for the reply. I should add that before I trimmed the cases I had the same problem ( I thought my problem may be that they were to long). The cases seem to fit to tight in the chamber. The ejector grabs hold of the case okay but you have to pull real hard to get it to eject.
  4. gdmoody