Need some advice on tumbler media

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Deacon_Man, Jul 3, 2012.

1. Deacon_Man

Deacon_Man Member

I am buying my new tumbler tommorrow from Harbor freight (Lyman 1200).
    My question is: Should I buy Walnut fine or course grade media? I have been told walnut course grade does the best job of cleaning the brass, do you agree?? What kind if any additive should I add to the media? As most of you know I am new to reloading. So far I have not blown up anything or myself, thanks to a lot of your help getting started. Special thanks to JLA for all his help. I like all the opinions I get for all the questions I ask. The answer I usally go with is the one with the most consistant opinions. I really enjoy being a member on TFF.

Deacon Man
  2. JohnnyFlake

JohnnyFlake New Member

For whatever it's worth, as there will be many different opinions, I use a 50/50 mixture of Corn Media and Course Walnut Media. When I am ready to clean some brass, just before I put the brass in, I add two cap fulls of Brasso Polish for metal and turn the unit on for about a minute or so to let it mix in with the media. Then I add the brass and let it run for an hour to an hour and a half. It works wonders with my brass.
  3. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

One additive that helps a great deal is a few dryer
    Sheets cut into pieces, walnut gets dusty, the sheets help.
  4. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

I have not used this yet as I still have one bag of walnut media left, but this is about the cheapest way to go; kind of a lot but plan on splitting it with a buddy. anyone used this stuff yet?

I also use an additive especially once the media starts getting dirty; I have brasso cream colored stuff and Dillon brass polish. Too expensive though, going to probably try and find something else that works on the cheap. I will have to try out the dryer sheet idea, sounds interesting.