Need some help reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Harleyrider, Jan 11, 2012.

1. Harleyrider

Harleyrider New Member

Hi all I'm new to the forum. There's a lot good informatin here but yet to find the information I need. I'm new to reloading and my set up is Lee dies for 38sp/357, Lee press, Lee Pro Auto-Disk Powder Measure and a Hornady GS-1500 Electronic Powder Scale. I'm shooting a 38/357 out of my SW 686 357. I'm using Unique powder because I've heard good reveiws on here about it. I have the Lee "Modern Reloading 2nd Edition, Revised" Reloading Manual.
    My question is I can not find the right powder load in my relaoding manual for Unique powder and lead flat nose bullets. The bullets are Hunters Supply Hard Cast Bullets 38 Caliber (357 Diameter) 125 Grain Lead Flat Nose bullets. I just target practice throught paper targets. I would like to load some 38 sp and 357 mag loads.
  2. myfriendis410

myfriendis410 Member

If you have jacketed data for the same bullet weight you can start there. The thing to do is drop back on your powder charge (2 grains?) when starting with a new gun/load combination. Load a few and try 'em to see how they shoot, and you can bump it up or down from there. Unique is a great all-around powder in the revolver; you can load it down or up depending.
  3. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

Welcome to the forum, Harleyrider.

I have looked in three manuals and cannot find anything specifically for a lead 125 grain bullet. I did find some loads for 120 grain lead and several loads for 125 grain jacketed bullets.

You can use the loads for the 125 grain jacketed bullets in your manual. I don't think I would drop it a complete 2 grains, though. My Lyman #49 shows a 4 grain starting load for 125 grain in .38 special, dropping it to 2 grains probably wouldn't give you very good results. I personally would start with the starting load and work up!!
  4. RandyP

RandyP Member