need some help with trimming

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by rgm19, Sep 11, 2008.

1. rgm19

rgm19 New Member

I'm just getting started, I need some help. Im loading .308 I have two books
    Lyman (came with my reloading kit) and a Nosler. I want to reload the Silver balistic tip for hunting this year. The Lyman gives a trim to length, but the Nosler doesnt just a maximum. They both give suggested starting loads, both are different. My first question is do you trim all new brass? And what if the manual you want to use doesnt list A trim to length? I want to use the nosler book because its their bullet. The Lyman book gives OAL for each bullet design, but the nossler book only gives one OAL. My second question is: For both Powder charge and OAL what are the acceptable variances to Specifications? Sorry if I'm rambling guess Im just getting overwhelmed with all the data. Thanks in advance for any help
  2. .308 shooter

.308 shooter New Member

RGM19,
    Welcome to the world of reloading. I am also new to reloading. I just bought my kit about 1-1/2 months ago. I've reloaded two batches and results were remarkeable. You're gonna love it!!!!

I will start of telling you what everyone told me. Read the manuals and completey understand everything before you start.
    Regarding the trimming of the case. The length listed in the manuals in 2.015" and that's the maximum overall length and that's what it means. I had the same question you did. The suggested trim to length is 2.005". If your cases are varying from that, then you should measure each case and trim them all to the trim to dimension. The brass will "grow" overtime as it expands through the firing process and eventually you'll have to trim again.