1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

New and Confused

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by quadcrazy, Nov 17, 2009.

1. quadcrazy

quadcrazy New Member

I am new to reloading and would like some guidance. I just purchased a new Lyman turret press and other needed reloading equipment including reloading supplies for reloading 38 special with assistance from Cabela's employee. After reading the Lyman reloading manual, it seems that the 38 special brass, primers, bullets and powder don't match any recipes in the book. How should I go about this?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
  2. Alpo

Alpo Well-Known Member

If you've got 38 special brass, it doesn't matter if yours is Federal and the book lists a load with Remington. It will work.

If you've got lead bullets, you need to use data for lead bullets (not jacketed data), but if you have 158 RN and the book has data for 158 SWC, it will work. If you have 122 grain bullets, and the book has data for 125 grain, it will work.

If you've got Small Pistol primers (not Small Pistol Magnum), and they are Winchester, while the book used CCI, it will work.

Powder - you've got to use what it says in the book. If you've got 4895, and the book doesn't have any 4895 loads, don't try to make your own. Bad, Bad idea. BOOM very likely.

But if you've got a powder that is listed in the book's data, and SP primers, no matter who made 'em, and bullets that are within 5 grains of the listed bullet weight (either up or down), it'll work. Just start with the lowest listed load, and work up.