The Firearms Forum banner

New and looking for advise with a 1858 Remington.

5K views 34 replies 10 participants last post by  Hawg 
#1 ·
Hi there, I'm new to the world of BP. I'm starting out with a 58 Remington, I've always loved the look and feel of those old civil war guns. This one is a replica of course but I am excited to finally be owning my first BP firearm. So I guess the questions that I have starting out are what kind of tools and equipment will I need? How do I keep it clean? What are the minimum and maximum grain loads? and what other tips and tricks you guys might have for me. I have been reading several threads on various subjects on this form I'm having a hard time finding exactly what I'm looking for pertaining to this specific gun, maybe it's much more cookie-cutter that I'm thinking but I'm definitely hands on type of guy I don't want to make a mistake that could get me or anyone else hurt. Anyways appreciate whatever comments and discussions you might have for me and thank you and advance.
Brown Gun Firearm Trigger Tan

See less See more
#2 ·
Personally with that brass frame I wouldn't go over 18 grains altho some do go 20. Hot soapy water for cleaning. I use bore mops instead of patches. Its not necessary to do a complete tear down every time you clean but most do. No petroleum based lube in the bore or chambers. In the action its fine. A decent set of gunsmith screwdrivers is a must have. Either use lubed wads under the balls or something like Crisco over the balls but Crisco is a runny mess in the summer and it gets blown all over the gun if you use too much.

#3 ·
In addition to the things Hawg has suggested I'd add a powder measure. You measure black powder volumetrically rather than by weight so don't use your scales, use a volumetric measure.