new guy here

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by itsman, Mar 31, 2004.

1. itsman

itsman New Member

I stumbled upon this site a few days ago and I would just like to say that, there is a lot of useful information and the people who post here are knowledgeable and friendly unlike other forums I have visited.

I am new to the hobby of shooting. I've been to a range twice and I am hooked, its really fun shooting. I turned twenty one a few months ago and am interested in purchasing some firearms to shoot at the local shooting range. My state requires that I take a firearm safety course before I can get a permit for a hand gun. I have already registered for the course at the local shooting range. If I decide to purchase my hand gun from the local shooting range/gun store I get a 50 dollar credit towards the purchase of any firearm. So I was wondering if anyone can recomend a hand gun for a beginner and something that is at the most 400 dollars u.s. I am a poor college student so I am unable to buy something beyond that price range.

On my most recent visit to the local range I rented a glock 17. I thought the gun was nice. It felt okay in my hands, comfortable. Another plus was the 9mm doesn't have a whole lot of kick. I remember the first time I went to a range, one of the guns that I shot was a .44 mag. It had a lot of kick, it was fun shooting it, but flinched every single shot I took. That gun was really loud. So besides any recomendations on hand guns that would fit my price range, any suggestions on guns to rent the next time I am at the range are welcome. I really want to make sure I am happy with my purchase. Oh and before I forget how is the ruger 10/22, I've heard its a good rifle for the money. Besides getting a hand gun, I want to pick up a .22 rifle for some cheap shooting. I couldn't believe how cheap the prices are on .22 LR ammunition, I had no idea since I've only recently gotten into this hobby.
  2. Knuckle_Dragger