New here and to reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Wildone72, Aug 29, 2012.

1. Wildone72

Wildone72 New Member

Hello all my name is Matt and I am new to reloading. I have been waning to start for many years but have not. Well my wonderful wife gave me a gift card for a early B-Day present to buy a reloading set up. I first researched it from members of a gun forum and then got the ABC's of reloading. After figuring out what I wanted to start with I ordered a Lee turret kit and everything else I needed from Midway USA. I took my time did a small batch of 223/556 after reading some more manuals and watching videos. Then tonight I did another 50 rounds. I have been saving brass for a while and have a bunch to load. Lol. I hope to learn more from you guys and have some fun in the process.
  2. BETH

BETH Well-Known Member

welcome the people on here will love helping you that is what they do best
  3. jack404

jack404 Former Guest

4. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF Matt. Just be sure you're checking/testing your load workups at intervals of no more than 20 rounds when starting out. It is a real pain to find out that the 100 rounds you just spent 2 hours on won't chamber or perform properly.
  5. gdmoody

gdmoody Moderator Supporting Member

Welcome to TFF and to reloading Matt. The main thing in reloading is safety. If you have a few manuals, you seem to be on your way to knowing what to do. AS woolley says, proceed slowly and start out with smaller batches to make sure thing are right before continuing.
  6. carver

carver Moderator

DAV, Deep in the Pineywoods of East Texas, just we
    Wildone72, welcome to the Forum, and to the world of reloading!
  7. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

welcome and fair warning; both TFF and reloading may be extremely habit forming!

Good to see more hand loaders out there, out of all my shooting buddies, only one reloads (and he just started this year also).

see ya round