New hunter with questions

Discussion in 'The Hunting & Fishing Forum' started by robman2629, Sep 8, 2012.

1. robman2629

robman2629 New Member

I am new to hunting as of this year. I went on my first hunt back in the spring for turkey, unfortunately I didnt get one but I shot at a couple (bad aim). I have a remington 870 super mag shot gun which means I can use any type of shell 2 3/4, 3, 3 1/2. I was wondering if anyone knows, do the barrels come rifled? Also, I have a choke on there right now to hunt turkey but would like to go hunting for deer this year. I am looking for a rifle but don't know what to get. Also, just incase I need to save money for school, what would be the best option for using my shotgun on the deer? I have heard, having a smooth barrel using rifled slugs with a full choke. Any and all help is much appreciated.

Thanks in advance!
  2. jstgsn

jstgsn Well-Known Member

First, welcome to the forum. You will find many on here who have tons of information and experience. If you scroll down the screen, you see a "hunting" section, which is where you should post further questions about hunting. The forum managers will guide you further with that.
    As far as the shotgun, if it has screw in chokes it is not rifled. They do sell rifled barrels for shotguns, some of which are "cantelever" or with the top of the barrel extending back to accomdate a scope. That way you can take the barrel off and keep your scope zeroed in. The cost of a cantelever rifled scope is probably cheaper than buying a new rifle. However, you can use your regular barrel to shoot slugs, you just won't be as accurate at greater distances. I took a nice doe last year using a youth model 20 ga. shotgun with a modified choke in my barrel, but did have a scope on the gun. I think the key is practice with what you have. (If you missed a couple turkeys, you may want to practice estimating distance and shooting.)