New NY Law: background check for all ammo purchases but not components

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by RAJBCPA, Jan 15, 2013.

1. RAJBCPA

RAJBCPA Member

I'm still reading the new NY law. As a NY resident, I will now need to get a background check to purchase ammo. This means all ammo purchases must be made in-person at an FFL location within NY. If you buy ammo on-line, it must be shipped to an FFL.

Since the law appears to be silent on ammo components like primers, powder, brass, bullets, etc., I assume no background check is necessary and NY residents can still buy these on the Internet and have the seller ship them directly to your house.

This new law should go a long way to stop another Newtown child killing.
  2. CCHolderinMaine

CCHolderinMaine Well-Known Member

More hypocrisy. Anti-gunners are so afraid of reloaders making "more deadly" rounds. Factory ammo is out of reach, but you can make your own no problem.
    6 rounds and a gun is HARMLESS, 8 and it's a machine waiting to kill you all on it's own.
    Libs never let the facts get in the way of their sick ideology.
  3. GunnyGene

GunnyGene New Member

This is such unbelievable BS, I can't even comprehend the level of paranoid, power mad psychosis Coma, Obama and the rest of them are afflicted with. Gotta be a genetic mutation that affects Democrats/Progressives/Liberals in this way. They all ought to be fitted with straight jackets, permanently prevented from reproducing, and confined in rubber rooms for the rest of their un-natural lives. :mad::mad:
  4. RAJBCPA

RAJBCPA Member

I fully expect king Obama to implement similar de-facto laws on the federal level which he intends to do without Congressional approval through presidential executive orders.

On this you can bet.
  5. joe45c

joe45c Well-Known Member

does the new law include shotgun ammo, .22?
  6. aa1911

aa1911 Active Member

wow. this will surely stop any mass shooting. good for them....
    yikes
  7. jbrescue