1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

New permit holder shopping for first gun!! Help!!

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by Tierra14, Apr 2, 2010.

1. Tierra14

Tierra14 New Member

Hey everyone! This is my first time posting and I'd appreciate your help! I just got my permit in NYS and I'm shopping for my first pistol! I need a little guidance. I'm a female with veryyyyy small hands so I can't handle anything big, at all. I've shot quite a few different pistols in my search and so far I like the .380. I believe it was a taurus. But then I went to a store and saw the Taurus 9mm 709 slim and it was pretty much PERFECT size for me, but I've never shot one. Any thoughts on the differences between the .380 and 9mm? I don't want to spend too much on my first because I plan on using it ALOT to target shoot to start learning the skill. I'll probably even buy a used one for now. I'm very new to this and have no idea what brands are good or anything like that so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!
  2. pinecone70

pinecone70 Active Member

Welcome aboard. The 9mm will have ammunition that is easier to find, for sure. It is also cheaper than the .380 ammo. As far as guns, that's like buying shoes....
  3. red14

red14 Active Member

Welcome to the forum, Tierra!

Have you thought of a revolver? For a first time shooter, a semi-automatic can be difficult to clean (you have to take it apart and put it back together). If it jams, you have to unjam it. With small hands and lesser strengh it can be difficult.

There are a few ladies on here who can help you too. Just wait a little while, and suggestions will surely follow.
  4. lentz

lentz Former Guest

Within price range,easy to conceal,feels good in the hand,accurate,comfortable to carry,stopping power
  5. Tierra14