The Firearms Forum banner

New reloader question Hs-6 vs Unique for 9mm

5K views 7 replies 5 participants last post by  Tacticool 
#1 ·
Hi, I have been setting up and using my Hornady AP press for about six months now. I treated it as a single stage until I had mastered each station to my satisfaction. Currently I have only reloaded 9mm at 115 and 124 gr and with the current powder situation I have a question about the differences between Hodgdon HS-6 and Alliance Unique. This question is about 9mm 124gr lead bullets with copper TMJ plating. I was using HS-6 exclusively and was very satisfied with the results. I am reloading for target practice only and not trying to push any performance limits. I was charging each case with 6.3 to 6.5 grains of HS-6 and the case filled up by eye balled volume to about 60% and looked to have plenty of room for the bullet to seat. I ran out of HS-6 and finally found some unique. From the loading data on-line and in the speer #14 manual the range should be 5.2 to 5.8 gr. I am getting a consistent 5.3 to 5.4 gr's into my cases with the unique. My question is that with unique the case is filled up to around 75% to 80% of the volume and I am pretty sure that seating the 124 gr bullet is compressing the powder. Am I in any danger of an over pressure situation? I am using the Hornady GS-1500 electronic scale. (Any reason to use a balance scale??) I guess that there is a density/formula difference between the two powders and it's no big deal, but want to be safe. Thanks for your help here. If there is another thread I couldn't find please direct me over there so I don't create noise that doesn't need to be here.

See less See more
#3 ·
You are loading about the same as I do. Yes Unique is a bulkier powder and does fill up the case more, but it is still in specs. Some of the older manuals would load up to 6.3 grains of Unique behind a jacketed 115 gn. I won't try that. That's a lot of powder in the small 9mm case

#4 ·