New reloader

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by rcrain, Nov 11, 2008.

1. rcrain

rcrain New Member

Hey everyone,
    I’m new to reloading and have a few questions about primers and case brands.

I've looked over the forums and books and have not found any information about case brands and how they affect performance as well as primers.
    So my question is, for example the Lyman manual, it says Remington cases are used for .308 test results along with Remington primers. Being new to reloading I don’t want to screw up my first reloads (or me!).

What I have is .308 Winchester brass, CCI 200 large rifle primers, Hodgdon - Varget powder and Speer 168 grain BTHP bullets. I would load using the Lyman suggested starting grains of 41 with an overall length of 2.81"

I have the Lyman and Modern Reloading manuals;
    Lyman tests are conducted with Remington brass and primers.
    Modern Reloading makes no reference to brass or primers.

Does brass make a difference? I know the military brass is different (smaller volume) because of thickness. But would Winchester brass make a difference here and how about the primer brands are the CCI a good choice here? I’m not shooting for absolute performance but rather consistency but I want to be safe about it.

Sorry for the book
    and thanks
    Rob
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member