new shooter from Canada

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by meg, Apr 20, 2008.

1. meg

meg New Member

Hi Everyone
    I am new to this forum. I am also new to shooting. Can anyone tell me what would be a good rifle to start with for target shooting and then on to hunting. I am 5ft 3 in. tall and 130 lbs and am a female of course. I don't want a rifle that is so long that I can hardly shoot. I want to be comfortable with it and don't want it to be too, too heavy. I appreciate any advise on this. Thanks

meg
  2. berto64

berto64 Active Member

Hiya Meg! Welcome to the asylum.

I'm not familiar with the modern selection of 22 rifles but the older Winchester, Marlin, Remington, and JC Higgins all have light barreled rifles.

Hang in there and those who know will be along to help you out.
  3. bunnyhunter12

bunnyhunter12 New Member

Hi Meg, welcome to TFF, good to see a fellow Canadian on the forums. It's also nice to see a female getting interested in the shooting sports and hunting. There is hope after all. :D:D:D

All kidding aside, I'm doing some looking around for you and depending on your build, you might be comfortable with a youth model rifle, many of these are actually called youth/lady models by the manufacturers. I'm looking at the Remington site right now and they offer the Model Five in a youth model. It's a bolt action, .22LR, five shot detachable magazine, with a 16.5" barrel(compared to the 22" full sized model) and also has a 1" shorter stock so that you will not be reaching as far for the trigger, that's called "length of pull". MSRP is listed as $237 American, but with our "strong dollar" of late, should be pretty comparably priced up here.

Winchester offers the Wildcat, bolt action .22, but no youth model. It is a very sharp looking rifle for $269.

You can also check here, http://www.marstar.ca/gf-norinco/index-lg-22.shtm