New shooter, looking for a gun

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by MattJ, Oct 27, 2005.

1. MattJ

MattJ New Member

Hello, im a beginner shooter looking for a good new gun. im DEFINATLY not a revolver guy, and the SW99 looked nice, and ive heard reccommendations for the Springfield XD, but i am still interested in getting more opinions. im pretty sure that im going to get a 9mm, if that helps.

thanks
  2. JohnK3

JohnK3 New Member

To beat out some of my JMB-idolizing brethren...[grin]

Oh, and glocknut will probably be along later with his two cents. [grin]
  3. MattJ

MattJ New Member

yes, i know all about the 1911, but its a lot pricey for my poor college means. that and ive heard from numerous people who have told me that .45 are not cheap to shoot either. I know a 9mm doesnt have much stopping power, but im more interested in learning to shoot cheaply then home defence, we have a shotgun for that. thanks for the imput though, any recommendations are appreciated
  4. mtnboomer

mtnboomer New Member

Oklahoma by birth. America by the grace of God.
    Try Llama or Hi-Point - yea, I know, Hi-Points are as ugly as the backside of a mud fence but they're well-built and accurate.
  5. SouthernMoss

SouthernMoss *Admin Tech Staff*

If you want to shoot cheaply, get a .22 pistol. You can shoot .22s by the brick. ;)

Welcome to TFF!
  6. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

Hi Matt.......welcome to TFF.

I'm with Southern Moss here. If you're a beginner pistol shooter, I'd highly recommend that you start with a .22.

I'd suggest something fairly inexpensive, but accurate, like a Ruger Mk.II, Mk.III or 22/45.

http://www.ruger-firearms.com/Firearms/P-CategoryPistolsRF.html

First off, .22s have low recoil, so you don't build in a "flinch" as you're learning to shoot......as you can with high powered pistols.