New Shooter

Discussion in 'Competition Shooting Forum' started by StileGuy, Aug 16, 2005.

1. StileGuy

StileGuy New Member

Friends, a Question: I'm new to shotguns, and would like to pursue trap shooting as a hobby. I've shot some in the past and really enjoyed it. I've read some material that suggests that a new shooter might want to start out with a .20 gauge shotgun, instead of a .12. I don't know if one can shoot trap effectively with a .20 gauge, as opposed to .12.

I was in my local Big 5 Sporting Goods store today, and they have a Mossberg "Silver Reserve" O/U in .20 gauge (and .12 gauge) for only $470. 28" barrel, chokes included, etc. Seemed like a nice looking gun and handled well. Of course, I've also seen the $1400 to $4000 guns at my local gun dealer. Can't really justify that kind of expense right now, both financially, and in terms of being new to shotguns.

Is the Mossberg in a .20 gauge something I should even consider, or am I wasting my time? If I learn to shot on that gun, and want to move up to .12 gauge someday, would it be a worthwhile purchase now that I can pass on to my kids down the line?

Any opinions, insights, etc. are appreciated.

StileGuy
  2. Coltonator

Coltonator New Member

In my opinion, if you get used to a 20 guage, you may have trouble if you ever move up to a 12...I started with a 20 and when I first fired a 12, I nearly broke my collar bone...lol :eek:
  3. southernshooter

southernshooter New Member

Anytime you go up a gauge you always have to make sure you hold it tight to your collar bone
  4. MarkC

MarkC New Member

My 6-year-old boys shoot standard 20 gauge small game loads at stationary clays. They shoot a Mossberg 500 Bantam. They'll shoot up a box with ease. My wife will bust a couple clays with a Nova, BPS or 11-87 12 guage... manicured nails and all... she's very much of a girly girl.

I think any man can step right into a 12 guage with ease.