1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

new to blackpowder shooting

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by retired, Sep 20, 2007.

1. retired

retired New Member

Hi. I am new to the blackpowder shooting sport,I have a cva 50cal optima.I am have a problem getting it to shoot a good group.I am using 777 100gr and power built bullets 295gr. Do I need to work up to that load or am i doing something wrong? In the past I did alot of reloading for smokeless powder, Rifle and pistol. But this loading seems to be alot different. I want to hunt with this rifle in Texas this year.Also do you know of a good book on blackpowder loading. Any help would be a blessing. Thanks Retired.:confused:
  2. mrkirker

mrkirker New Member

First, you need to decide if you want to shoot Black Powder or one of the subs (777, ect.) that are on the market today. 777 and their ilk are NOT Black Powder. Check out Midway's book offerings, and I think Lyman has a good book on Black Powder, by the way. (I loaned my copy out, and it hasn't made it's way back home.)

I have zero experience with these subs. However, the same rule should apply when working up a load for any firearm. If you want to go the 777 route, it sounds like you might want to spend some time with the bench using different loads AND rounds.

I noticed that the guys shooting the substitute propellants seem to have to clean their muskets pretty often or they suffered a drop-off in accuracy due to 'char' building up in the groves. Could be a pain in the a**, but you might want to brush & swab out after every couple of rounds. (I swab after every 10, but I'm shooting B/P with sized, well-lubed rounds.)

Just a thought,
    Aim Fast - Shoot True!
  3. AngelDeville

AngelDeville New Member