New to firearms-Advice

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by honkey, Dec 4, 2011.

1. honkey

honkey New Member

Hi all, I am new to guns in a lot of ways. Unlike most people, I will not be learning to shoot from my dad, or getting advice from him. I have talked to my brother a little bit, but he is pretty new to guns also. I was telling him that I want to buy a few guns for self-defense and hunting. He offered to give me his .22 pistol to learn to shoot with and told me the guns I was looking at were too big for a beginner (I told him I wanted a .357 magnum and a .44 magnum). Now, I am thinking that I should get a rifle for hunting (we want to hunt hogs) and maybe get a handgun to have by my side... I do not want to break the bank on this and will probably buy used. Can anyone give advice on a rifle and a handgun that would fit my requirements? I was looking at a Rossi Single Shot .308 rifle and then trying to find a .357 magnum for around $250. Am I being unrealistic?

I like the idea of having the .22 for practice shooting, the .357 for carry and back up while hog hunting, and the rifle for the main hunting gun.
  2. BETH

BETH Well-Known Member

hi honkey so who is going to be showing u how to shoot? Don't go jumping in to buying a bunch of guns till u get the feel .22 pistol or rifle is a good choice. Are u new to guns because u are young or u just want to start shooting?
  3. honkey

honkey New Member

Oops, meant to say that I am not a 100% newbie. I did shoot rifle and shotguns in Boy Scouts when I was younger. I also do have a good BB/Pellet gun (I know... Not the same) but everything I have shot, I have managed to pick up quickly and I will obviously spend a lot of time at a range before I go on my first hunt.
  4. honkey

honkey New Member