new to me Savage model 29

Discussion in '.22-Rimfire Forum' started by kawasaki_kid, Jan 9, 2011.

1. kawasaki_kid

kawasaki_kid New Member

i just received a Savage 29 .22 pump for Christmas. It was a gift from a family friend, I've been trying to buy it from him for about 3 years, he always said no until now when he gave it to me. the stock seems to be in pretty good shape, not sure if its ever been refinished. the barrel is starting to lose its blue. it came in the original canvas case, as well as some of the original paper work.

i took it out to day to see how she shoots, unfortunately doesn't work as well as id hoped. it seems to shoot fine, but it doesn't always load properly. I will spend some time later trying to figure out why it isn't repeating.

what else can you tell me about this rifle? i believe it to be about 60ish years old according to the stories that cam along with it.

Attached Files:

2. Jackman

Jackman New Member

Looks nice :cool:, I am a novice but believe that yours is whats known as a "Take Down" easily disassembled and transported in the carrying case , having the carrying case adds to the collect ability of the firearm as well as the extra paper work too..

Do a soup to nuts cleaning and I bet you load chambering issue goes away,,,

Nice gun Congrats :cool:
  3. steve99f

steve99f New Member

kawasaki Kid,

Is there a letter next to the model number? For instance, A or B. It's on or the other, probably. Also what city is stamped on the barrel, Chicopee, MA or Westfield, MA?

It looks to be in nice shape from what you can see in the pics. If your problem still exits after a good cleaning of the internals, it is probably the cartridge cutoff being worn or broken.
  4. Road America

Road America Member