The Firearms Forum banner

New to pistols what is the best choice?

2K views 14 replies 8 participants last post by  Jackson Lewis 
#1 ·
Hi! I'm relatively new to pistols and have fired a few with friends and all but I am trying to decide what to buy as my first my end goal being ippsc and combat pistol training, and I am trying to get into law enforcement as a career so I've narrowed it down to a few pistol choices..... the choices are somewhat limited here in Canada my top choices are: Browning Hi-power, Sig P226, sig P-320 (if I can find one), HK p30L, HK45, S&W M&P. other recommendations ( besides Glock) are appreciated, cost is not to much of a problem as my education fund can cover it.

#2 ·
I'm probably a bit biased, having owned one for 30 years or so, but IMHO there is no gun on earth as well made, well designed, and well suited to placing a hunk of heavy metal where you want it to go (within a reasonable distance for a pistol, say 100 meters), as the Browning Hi-Power. I've owned and shot a number of other brands/models in my life, but none ever came close to the performance of the Hi-Power. When I look for another gun in 9 mm, it's the 10.00 against which I compare all others. Nothing Glock ever dreamed of making comes close. Sig tries hard, and I have a couple, but there's just no comparison possible; the playing field just isn't level enough.

Nice education fund, by the way. How can I get one that covers firearms?:D

Reactions: Big Shrek
#5 ·