The Firearms Forum banner

New to Reloading and Confused...

3K views 10 replies 7 participants last post by  allensm 
#1 ·
Sorry this is long.

I have an S&W .40 M&P. I'm just getting started with reloading (Noob Alert!) and the one thing I have learned from all I have read during the past few months is "GO SLOW." I have no problem with that and have read the following books:

- The ABCs of Reloading, 9th Edition
- Modern Reloading, Second Edition
- Sierra Rifle and Handgun Reloading Data
-Hornady of Cartridge Reloading
- Speer Reloading Manual #14
- Lyman 49th Reloading Handbook
- The Complete Reloading Manual for the 10mm/40 S&W

In addition, I have spent countless hours reading everything from every web site I could find in my searches. That search led me to the purchase of a Lee Classic Turret Press, .40 S&W dies, scales, and all the other goodies, many of which I probably didn't need right now (but I like toys so I bought them).
I also ordered what I believe to be anyway, the best components for me to start with. They are:

- A whole lot of once-fired brass
- Montana Gold .400 180 grain CMJ bullets
- CCI #500 Small Pistol Primers
- Powder (Win 231, HP-38 and WSF)

Various sources I have read say that the above components are favorites of many of the more experienced and a good start for the newly indoctrinated.
Researching load data for my first test loads has left me more than frustrated. I have looked in all the books I own, checked out all the manufacturer web sites and fine no load data really comparable to the components I have. It appears you have to but the bullet manufacturers bullets (if they publish data) and then with only a minimal subset of powders they chose to use in their testing. The same goes for the Powder manufacturers. In my case Hodgdon/Winchester owns the powder and makes bullets. Additionally, Montana Gold doesn’t publish data.