NEW TO RELOADING PLEASE ADVISE

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by diebog, Jan 9, 2010.

1. diebog

diebog New Member

I am new to reloading and did some searching here on the forum, but didn’t find what I was exactly looking for.

I will be reloading mainly .40 cal. but a buddy of mine has a .357 s&w and a .460 s&w, so I assume if i get into reloading he will want to start reloading too, and will want to use my stuff.

so my question is: what would be the right setup for what i described? im not a diehard blowing threw ammo kind of guy (i would like to just don’t have the time or money), more or so when i get the time to go out the range or the occasional camping trip. at the most I might use a few hundred rounds a month. some more then others, but on average that is what i would use.

after purchasing all the necessary equipment, what does it cost a round, or 50...going to cost? for a .40....357....and .460? im just trying to get an idea of the savings i might see with reloading. i assume the more you go trough the les each round costs.

i looked on cabelas and they got allot of setups. so have no idea what to go with. would something like this be a waste of money?
    http://www.cabelas.com/cabelas/en/t....x=3&_dyncharset=ISO-8859-1&_requestid=184043

I have no experience with any of this. so if any one knows of a good book, or DVD, i would sure appreciate it. i watched amosmiths on youtube, very good info there. but im still a little confused.

also when i do get setup, what’s the best place to buy primers, powder,
    cases, bullets?

sorry for all the questions, just figured id ask them all at once.

thanks,

Jeremy
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2010
  2. diebog

diebog New Member

3. RandyP

RandyP Member

NOTE TO THE MODERATOR: Maybe we could get a few stickies here for newcomers to adress the most common questions we receive every day?