New to Reloading

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by al2ride, Mar 3, 2011.

1. al2ride

al2ride New Member

So about a month ago I decided to do my own reloading. I bought a Lee Loadmaster with the 45 ACP dies. At the same time I bought a Kimber Raptor II. I wen to the local supplier and got 500 count of brass, lead SWC 200g, Win231 and Primers. I also bought the Lee Modern Reloading book. I studied the book and instructions and decided to start reloading. I loaded about 50 rounds and decided to put feed them through the Kimber when I realized the round would not feed all of the way. I adjusted the seater die a bit deeper and that seemed to fix the problem (too wide case at the mouth?). I ended up loading all 500 rounds...I know, big mistake. Out on the range I had tons of FTFs. It seemed the casings where getting stuck on the ramp. It was a pain, but I ended up firing 200 rounds. Are the SWCs the problem with my Kimber. I ordered 225g FN and just loaded 50 rounds to try them out. I'm thinking the round bullet will help with the feed. One thing I noticed with all 50 rounds is that they feed great, but it seems hard to pull the slide back to eject. Being a newbie to reloading, I would appreciate any tips or help. Thanks in advance.
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome to TFF and know that we've all had an oops or two; just make sure you pay close attention and double check everything to avoid the big OOPS.

I load up a few test loads with spent primers and no powder, these are the rounds that I use to cycle test a new load.

When working up a new load, 5-10 rounds of each step is about it until I reach a point where I've found the sweet spot or reached max pressures.

You're going to have to break in the Kimber and adjust your seating depth ever so slightly so that it will feed properly. SWC's should feed just fine. Also check the feedramp and ensure that there aren't any burrs or rough looking spots; it happens, even on Kimbers.