New to sight, Quik question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by M1AM14, Dec 28, 2009.

1. M1AM14

M1AM14 New Member

Hello from Idaho:)

I'm new to this sight, i found it just browsing around looking for reloading info. I'm hoping you guy's can be my new info center. I've been reloading for most of my 30yr old life, but don't know much about it. I lost my information center last June (my old man). He passed away and I just don't have anybody to really turn to for my dumb questions.

Anyway, I've been hearing a lot of people saying that the new powders only have a short shelf life, like 10yrs or less. The people telling me this don't reload, and are kind of paranoid about the gov. trying to control bullet productions. Is this true?

Thanks, hope to get to know everybody here alittle better.
  2. ampaterry

ampaterry *TFF Admin Staff Chaplain* Staff Member Supporting Member

I had not heard this -
    There is (or at least was) a movement to make the primers become inert after some fixed period of time, though -
    And this was established as a reality by a reference to an issued patent on the mechanism for manufacturing them to do this.
    But it has not been implemented.
    Yet.

Welcome to the forum!
  3. army mp

army mp Member

Welcome to the form. You will pick up some good info on here. Sorry to hear about your Dad. As for powder and primers, A lot of the bad information is going around the web. And just repeats of the same garbage that was going around back during the Clinton Crime bill years. This is driving the hoarding. Two suggestions. Get a couple Good reloading manuals. Too go with what you pick up here. And join the NRA, they help keep the BS rumors to a minimum. Be safe and good luck.
  4. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

M1AM14: