new to the flintlock need powder info

Discussion in 'Black Powder Shooting / Muzzleloaders / Handguns' started by rob the painter, Nov 26, 2007.

1. rob the painter

rob the painter New Member

i just picked up a wakens type of flint lock and have never played with these so i will need any basic info you guys can give me, i know i need a 3/4" flint, what knid of wads should i use wool or /? and should i get the lubed ones. it is a .54 cal what type of powder can i use that is cheap and is it a seperate powder for the igniter area. how much of a charge should i use max. thanksZ!
  2. Oneida Steve

Oneida Steve Active Member

I've been shooting flintlock for 15 years now. Here is what works for me:

1) Lubed wads, definitely. They cost more but are well worth the price.

2) You can shoot your flintlock with original black powder (2F or 3F) and prime it with 4F powder OR use any of the substitute BP products (Pyrodex, Triple Seven, etc) and prime with FFFFg blackpowder. But you must prime with 4F powder. Don't try a substitute.

3) I have found - by trial and error - that it is best to load a "duplex" load in flintlocks. First pour in 15 gr. of 4F powder, followed by your main charge (60 gr. of Pyrodex Rifle for me), then ram a patched ball. (Total charge is 75 gr.) The small load of FFFFg will make the substitute powder ignite much, much quicker.

4) Max load for .54 caliber is 120 grs. IMO.

Good luck with your new gun!
  3. rob the painter