New User... Rifle Question

Discussion in 'Technical Questions & Information' started by racesarabhorses, Mar 28, 2008.

1. racesarabhorses

racesarabhorses New Member

I am new to firearms, though I do have experience (military) with M-16 and M-4 carbine, as well as M-9.

As I understand the law, civilians are generally prohibited from owning fully automatic rifles. I was hoping for a fully automatic rifle for home protection (we live in the country, not many neighbors, and can't rely on rapid response from a police force.) Looks like the law prohibits that.

Maximum number of bullets downrange always tends to worry an enemy...

What is the best semiautomatic rifle available for purchase here in the States? Ease of use, availability of ammunition, jam-free operation, and accuracy are paramount--not necessarily in that order.

Personal experience: the M-16s I've played with jam way too easily. Perhaps that it simply because they've been training weapons... I don't know. The AK-47 we were up against in training didn't make the going easy.

Also, my impression is that "assault rifle" style weapons such as the M-16 and M-4 tend to be less lethal and more intended to incapacitate the enemy, thereby taxing enemy logistics lines (medical care for the wounded.) If I were defending my home against a drugged up idiot, I'm not sure I'd want him to be injured; I'd prefer he be removed as a threat.

I understand a shotgun may be just as effective. This purchase of an automatic/semiautomatic weapon would be a hobby purchase, as well, as I am definitely interested in the "cool factor" associated with owning such a weapon.

My current inventory: M-9 Beretta, shotgun, and entry-level 30-06 (chambers 5 but bolt action--good for wild dogs and deer.) I am looking at a Springfield Armory SOCOM 16 as a possibility.

Thanks,

Mike
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2008
  2. ehughes

ehughes New Member