Newbie and Mistake

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by CBirnley, Apr 29, 2012.

1. CBirnley

CBirnley Member

Well by the title, you know how this is going to go...on the plus side, I can still type, which means this mistake could have been MUCH worse...

I am looking for feedback on what went wrong with a reload.

I am new to reloading, watched Hornady's videos (having purchased their AP LnL, watched YouTube vids with Hornady footage, went to the Hodgdon site, measured the powder (tared with the pan), verified several times I was throwing the correct amt of powder (measured and Powder Copped) measured the C.O.L (multiple times), spoke with a friend who has several years of experience (verified that I was doing everything correctly), and was VERY VERY LUCKY! I am NOT a fan of relying on luck...

.40 XDm
    CCI small primer
    .40 Winchester case (either was new or only once fired)
    155 Gr JHP Remington
    Hodgdon Titegroup (5.4 grs - starting load)

Pics are attached...this mistake was way too close to be tragic...

What happened? and how do I ensure to NEVER do this again?

Attached Files:

2. gun-nut

gun-nut Member

Is it posibal that you put the primer in the wrong way?
  3. rcairflr

rcairflr Active Member

If everything you said is true, than this should not have happened. The powder charge is within the safe limits.

Are you absolutely sure, you did not throw a double charge of powder into that case.
  4. jlloyd73

jlloyd73 New Member

Ouch............I am glad you aren't hurt. That is my reloading nightmare.
  5. Frogtop

Frogtop New Member

Was this the first round that you fired? If not, approx how many rds fired before this one? Did any sound "funny" or feel differently? Reg or mag primers (can't imagine making that much of difference). Any chance there was something in the bbl? Did you physically look in the cases after powder charging for any that looked strange?
  6. CBirnley

CBirnley Member