Newbie here, brass cleaning question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Wizekraker, Mar 3, 2010.

1. Wizekraker

Wizekraker New Member

I believe I have the right equipment. Tumbler, wallnut media, midway brass polish. Not sure I am getting the right results. After two hours the brass still comes out tarnished in spots and with tarnished finger prints. Some brass is clogged in the neck of the case with media. Any pointers on what I am doing wrong? I feel like the brass should be cleaner than it is coming out. Thanks for the help.
  2. 312shooter

312shooter Active Member

The clogging sounds like you are adding the polish in with the brass all at once. Run the tumbler with media and polish for ten minutes then add brass. The diffferent size of the media can affect your run time needed slightly I have noticed. I usually set mine to tumble overnight, never had any problems that way. If you are trying to get factory shine on your brass you want corn. Walnut works faster,polishes to a dull sheen. Corn will give you a mirror perfect finish but takes a bit longer.
  3. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Wizekraker:

Forget the polish! Use the walnut shells media dry. Some staining of the brass even after a couple of hours in the vibratory cleaner is common. It hurts nothing. If the staining is excessive then just run it longer in the vibratory cleaner. Overnight is good. I have the big industrial sized Dillon vibratory cleaner and I leave my brass in it for two to three hours. I don't over load it, either. If you pack the brass in then the cleaner can not do its job. I settle for some staining.

Here's a word of warning. Don't get obsessed with perfectly polished brass and resort to using chemicals to remove the stains. Brass can be hurt by using the wrong chemicals on it such that the strength is reduced. That is about the last thing you want when you are trying to contain 60,000 psi gases!

LDBennett
    Last edited: Mar 3, 2010
  4. carver