Newbie here... How'd I do?

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by Rastminikov, Jun 23, 2010.

1. Rastminikov

Rastminikov Former Guest

Just went to the pistol range for the 5th time or so. First time that I really consistently focused on accuracy with the revolver though, rather than just for fun/plinking. Anyhoo, advice? I've been holding the revolver with my right hand up pretty high on it, thumbs on the cylinder release, and left hand supporting. Need to figure out the best stance though.

Here's a pic of the target. I shot at the head 6 times on purpose. The rest of the shots were aimed at the bullseye.

6 hits on head
    4 hits in 7 ring
    6 hits in 8 ring
    34 hits in 9 ring
    24 hits in the red
    26 hits in the very center ring (w/in the red)

Total of 100 hits on target out of 100 shot

Distance was about 25-30 ft, indoor range.

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 23, 2010
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Congrats ! You're at the range, practicing and well on your way, ya did well ! Here's a decent article on grip styles, you may or may not do as well with one over the other. Try them all and find one that fits you.

http://www.handgunsmag.com/tactics_training/grip_0925/

plenty more info out there also.
  3. jacksonco

jacksonco New Member

Looks like a pretty dead target to me. I think that you did well. The distances you were shooting are considered combat range for a pistol. In most circumstances nost gun fights happen within that distance. 7 yards is the distance I do most of my shootoing with a pistol.

What make and model of revolver were you shooting?
  4. The_Rifleman

The_Rifleman New Member

I think you did well. The shots have a center that is centered on the center of the target. The next time you shoot, I'll bet your group will be smaller.
  5. Rastminikov

Rastminikov Former Guest