newbie here stuck cases in dies

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by mvmtoys, Jul 24, 2012.

1. mvmtoys

mvmtoys New Member

Hello all I am totally new to reloading and just bought myself a Lee reloading kit, I using Lee dies and lee case lube, I am trying to reload for 30 06, and needless to say I have gotten really good at removing stuck cases from my die, thank goodness for big hammers and punches, I have also learned that my bench top is no where near heavy enough as I broke the press clean out of the counter top do to a stuck case. LOL. I tend to learn best threw trial and error and needless to say I am learning alot.
    So what am I do wrong I have stuck 8 cases out of 40 that I have been resizing, I think that I am using plenty of lube but to be honest I dont know for sure, I am swabbing the inside neck of the casing with a cotten swap dipped in lube, my die seems to be clean and is new. really getting discouraged please help.
  2. BETH

BETH Well-Known Member

welcome to the forum don't worry someone will be along to help u, don't get discouraged they will walk u thru it
  3. BETH

BETH Well-Known Member

ok guys lets give him some help
  4. 76Highboy

76Highboy Well-Known Member Supporting Member

This is how I lube my cases. I used the this

http://www.hornady.com/store/One-Shot-Spray-Case-Lube/

I simply put the cases in the loading tray, spray them with one even coat uniformly all the way around and wait about one minute. Then I begin re-sizing/deprimeing. I never have a stuck case if I do it that way. Too much lube is not a good thing and obviously not enough is not good either. Just go by the directions off of the can and you will be ok.

Hope that helps.
  5. 76Highboy

Also welcome to the forum MVMTOYS.
  6. mvmtoys

mvmtoys New Member