newby question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by ramdino, Jan 29, 2011.

1. ramdino

ramdino New Member

I am brand new to reloading. Just started my bench and got a dumb question. I am looking through my Lyman book at the powder amounts. I am going to be loading 223. The larger the grain bullet the longer correct? The longer the bullet , the more contact with the case correct? If those are correct i would assume that the heavier the bullet and the more contact with the case the more powder would be required to propel it. But when I look at 55 grain using Varget it uses 25 grain ( min load ) and the 69 grain uses 23.4 grains. Why less for a heavier bullet that contacts the casing more?
    Another question is does it matter as far as powder loading what brand bullet you use or do you go solely by then weight of the bullet. I understand that different bullets perform different but my main concern is blowing something up in the rifle.
  2. AL MOUNT

AL MOUNT Active Member

Cleaning my Thompson in The Foothills of the Ozark
    I've only reloaded 45/70, but I can't answer your question.

Hang in there,

some of these good folks will have an answer for ya. :)
  3. TheGunClinger

TheGunClinger Well-Known Member Supporting Member

The larger the grain the heavier the bullet, not longer. Most manuals explain your questions. Just read read and then read.
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2011
  4. BobMcG

BobMcG Well-Known Member Supporting Member

Welcome to readloading.

Often, but not always. It depends upon the bullet type/style.

Well.... often, the longer the bullet, the deeper it has to be seated into the case to keep the OAL correct for use in magazine fed firearms. (As well as being able to chamber the round correctly.) Single shot rifles give a bit more room to work with.

That's a nice thought, but along with deeper seating depth comes reduced case capacity. (The amount of room you have to put powder in.)

Because of the above stated reason. ;)