Newly acquired Iver Johnson Top-Break Revolver

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by DRB, Sep 6, 2011.

1. DRB

DRB New Member

Hello to all, I am a brand new member to the forum and new to firearms ownership. It is something I have wanted to do for quite some time, but didn't want to start a firearms hobby until I was ready to dedicate the necessary time for proper training and regular practice.

With that said, as soon as I put the word out that I was ready to start my new hobby; I was given two pistols from a family member. They didn't come with much history though so when I stumbled on this forum and started reading I knew this was the place to start!

Since I am new to the hobby, please forgive me if I mis-speak, I'm still learning the proper terms.

I have an Iver Johnson top-break revolver which I believe is a 38 caliber. It has a 4 inch barrel and the only reason I know it is an Iver Johnson is because of the marking on top of the barrel. The only other markings are under the trigger guard and under the left grip which both have the serial numbers as stated in the sticky. The number is 827XX and the only difference is that the one under the grip is preceded by a capital 'H'. I can't find any other markings on the gun at all. I also do not know how to determine the %bluing or condition as requested in the sticky. I will attach pictures for help with that though. It also has a very nice looking one-piece wood grip (unsure about the type of wood)

I want to know a few things about this gun:

1. Confirm the caliber.
    2. What ammo to use and how to determine if it is safe to fire.
    3. Best place to purchase the ammo if it is safe to fire.
    4. The date of manufacture.
    5. Approximate value (I'm not necessarily looking to sell but it is nice to know).
    6. Anything else that you 'the experts' think I should know.

Thanks in advance!

Attached Files:

Last edited: Sep 2, 2012
  2. hrf

hrf Well-Known Member