Next Question: Load Data

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by springerbuster, Sep 12, 2009.

1. springerbuster

springerbuster Member

Now that I have figured out my sizing problem, thanks to all of your help, I am ready to move on to charging my first loads. I will be loading 223 rem. Before I bought my press I was given 16 lbs of Accurate 2230 c powder. I also have 1000 small rifle primers that are Winchester brand that I paid dearly for at a gun show. The bullets that I will be using are Hornady 55gr. fmj bt. that I just received for buying the press from Hornady. From any of the charts that I have been able to find max. load says 25.4 to 26 gr. From what I understand (don't forget I am brand new to this) I should start out 5 to 10% less than this. So for my starting load I decided to go with 23.4 gr. which is 10% less than the higher max. load numbers that I have been able to find. Just curious what you guys think.
  2. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Correct for powder load (10% below max for starting load). Do observe the Max Over All Length and make it as called out on the recipe.

Is the brass once fired? If so the cases will need to be sized and measured for maximum overall length. If they exceed that then they must be trimmed (after sizing). TRIM-TO -LENGTH is usually 0.010 inches shorter than the Maximum Case Length specification.

Make sure to follow the recipe exactly. Once you are an expert at reloading you can make variation in some of the parameter to increase the accuracy of the gun. But follow the book for now.

LDBennett
  3. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member

My accurate manual (circa 1994) lists a starting load of AA2230 for the .223 to be 23.4 under a 55 gr. pill and 26.0 to be max. Looks like you are right on track;)

My Lyman book lists 22.5 gr as starting and 25.0 as max. (Lyman 49th)

My Hornady book doesnt even list AA2230 in thier data for your exact bullet... (bummer)