Noob in reloading has a question

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Cho, Apr 30, 2012.

1. Cho

Cho New Member

Hello guys,

As I already said, im a total noob to reloading, I just bought my first kit and pretty much everything I need to reload. I have read a lot on the subject but never done any before. I bought a LEE auto index deluxe version 4 hole turret press with lee carbide 3 dies ... Now I have a huge problem, I noticed that I really gotta take my time to try to place each bullet on the shell VERY PERFECTLY aligned straight before pushing it in the seating die otherwise it gets misaligned and you can see clearly that its not perfectly straight but has a little angle. I guess this is not normal? I worked for 2 hrs to make 10 bullets that are straight, cuz I had to re-do every one of them at least 4-5 times cuz no matter how perfectly I try to align the bullet it still has a little angle in it when finished, MAYBE 1 out of 3 times it seems perfectly straight. Is it me not being experienced or it isnt supposed to be like this? I checked the seating die and everything seems good to me, it is not screwed cross thread or something to my eye it seems straight, only thing is I believe the shell moves just a tad when pressure gets applied on the bullet (cuz when you put the shell in that adapter it is not very solid, its kinda loose I don’t know if its normal .. ) and I believe it moves the shell just a tad and the bullet gets moved just a little to get out of perfect position where I placed it and it makes it go in misaligned.

I thought the die was supposed to be seating the bullet perfectly itself without you doing much, right now I spend 20 seconds to deprime it, prime, resize, put in the powder and then I spend 20 mins trying to put the bullet on top of it. Something seems awfully wrong.