noob question about crimping.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Big Chevy, Mar 11, 2012.

1. Big Chevy

Big Chevy Member

I'm just starting out loading .40, .45 and .38/357, FMJ, I'm using RCBS carbide die sets. My question is how can u tell if you have to much crimp, and how do you measure a crimp? Should the case width be the same throughout? Is it the same crimp for the cannelure ring on the .38/.357? Any help would be appreciated!
  2. garydude

garydude Member

Check out this thread by our esteemed LDBennet on crimping. Any other questions that he didn't address, please let us know. Lots of help available to you here.
  3. garydude

garydude Member

Oh, and welcome to the forum! :dance::dance::dance:
  4. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Welcome BigChevy ! 40 & 45 headspace off the mouth; so you are applying a taper crimp which i like to refer to as more of a squeeze than a crimp. You are just taking off the expansion applied by the expanded die before seating the bullet. You use calipers to measure your final dimension at the bullet case mouth and then make sure youre within SAMMI spec.

The 38/357 gets a roll crimp which will "roll" the case mouth into the crimp groove of the bullet. You can also use calipers to measure. There is no set spec: just make sure that the bullet will not set back into the case; i push it against the side of my bench. Also with a new load; ENSURE that you check the rounds in your cylinder after each shot for the first couple cylinders. Heavier loads typically require heavier crimp. H110 is a powder that like heavy crimp to burn well; usually used for heavy mag loads.
  5. JLA

JLA Well-Known Member