1. Get Gear'd Up! Enter to WIN $1000 in gear!

Please Click Here for full details and to enter. You will need to be registered and logged in to view the details and to participate.

Thanks and good luck to everyone

OAL on hollowpoints

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by springerbuster, Oct 25, 2009.

1. springerbuster

springerbuster Member

I am fairly new to reloading and have loaded some 223 and 9mm FMJ bullets with success. Today I loaded my first hollow points in 9mm. These were Rem. Golden Saber in 124gr. My question is how do you get a consistent over all length? When I thought I had my seating die set I noticed that the completed rounds varied by as much as .025 of an inch. I figured out why when I compared the bullets to each other. The difference was in the tips of the bullets. Some had a much bigger cavity in the tip than others did. This changed the shape of tip enough to were the bullet seated in the die from round to round in a different spot, therefor changing the overall length. Is this normal or do I have a bad batch of bullets? Thanks in advance for any advice.
  2. woolleyworm

woolleyworm Active Member

Sounds like bad bullets to me; I've never been a fan of factory G-Sabre loads, so I've never messed with reloads on them. I'd take some measurements and contact Rem about them.
  3. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

Sounds like you got a mixture of lots. I'd bet if you segregated them by how deep the cavity was you'd find two or three different groups which means they came from different lots. Apparently it is not that uncommon for the machines that make the bullets to be set up slightly differently (??).

I had a similar problem with Remington 303 bullets that were bulk packaged by the supplier. He obviously mixed lots when he made up the 100 bullet baggies of bullets.

LDBennett
  4. toxophilus

toxophilus New Member