Odd Colt item

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by morsecode, Oct 25, 2005.

1. morsecode

morsecode New Member

Something I picked up from ebay. Seller says :

"This unusual Colt switchbox was taken out of a Upper Peninsula log cabin that was built in the 1930's during the WPA employment days. It has a wooden switch knob and a metal tag that states it was made by the COLT'S PATENT FIRE ARMS MFG. CO. in Hartford Conn.

From what I could find out this was supposedly manufactured when Colt was trying to make different items to raise capitol in thier very slow years. I wrote to Colt to find out about the switch and their response letter stated that they had no knowledge of this item being produced.

I have never seen another one anywhere and I have been an electrician for 35 years."

Did Colt have slow years? Does that fit in with pre-war scenario?

The lower left part of the panel says: Colt's Patent Firearms Mfg. Co / Hartford, Conn

I live in CT and sometimes see Colt stuff in the area antique shops. If you want me to keep an eye out for anything specific (besides guns) drop me a line.

Rob

Attached Files:

2. inplanotx

inplanotx New Member

I have heard stories of accounts like this. Don't know of any personally, but it has happened. Nice find! :)
  3. mtnboomer

mtnboomer New Member

Oklahoma by birth. America by the grace of God.
    During the depression many of the firearms manufacturers began making other items to suppliment their incomes - this was more out of necessity than anything else.

Yes, great find!
  4. Xracer

Xracer *TFF Admin Staff Mediator*

My dad worked for Colt in the late 1930's.....and yes, the Depression years from 1929 to 1938 were very lean at Colt. In mid-'38 they started getting some MG contracts from Great Britain and a few from the U.S. in the lead-up to WWII....and things picked up after that.