OK, newbie here loading the .45 Long Colt cartridge

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by Guest, Feb 24, 2003.

1. Guest

Guest Guest

AGunguy
    *TFF Staff*
    (2/8/03 10:56:31 am)
    Reply | Edit | Del All OK, newbie here loading the .45 Long Colt cartridge
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Ah needs to know...about .45 Long Colt buddits.

All my .45 buddits is .452 diameter stuff, will they shoot OK in the .45 LC cylinder that shoots through a .455 revolver barrel?

You will probably tell me to slug the barrel but I've never done that and don't want to. Got to be someone out there that has some experience with this set up.

Also, those dang .452 buddits stick out too far in the .45 LC cylinder. So, what brand of hard cast buddits is there to buy that don't have too long an ogive past the seat point on the buddit. Would like some 240 to 250 grain FN buddits and maybe some 200 grainners in the flying ash tray configuration.

Thanks for any help.

Gunguy

inplanotx
    V.I.P. Member
    (2/8/03 4:34:06 pm)
    Reply | Edit | Del Re: OK, newbie here loading the .45 Long Colt cartridge
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hi GG,
    First a couple of questions. How do you know the barrel is .455. Is this a converted .455 Eley? Also, what is the forcing cone size on the buddit end of dat LC cylinder? That is what will determine accuracy when matched to the barrel. Take a caliper reading of each cyclinder (barrel end). If the cylinder was matched to the barrel, then the cones should be around .455 also. That will determine bullet diameter.

Now for the length in the cylinder. I would use a cowboy action buddit of RNFP design or a Keith type. Instead of crimping in the crimp groove, just seat a little deeper and crimp on the front barrel band. This will be fine as it sounds like an old gun and you will be using light loads.