Old Iver Johnsons Arms and Cycleworks Hammerless Revolver

Discussion in 'The Ask the Pros & What's It Worth? Forum' started by bubway, Jan 6, 2011.

1. bubway

bubway New Member

Hello, I am new to the Fourm.

My question:

I have just purchased (and was researching when I located this Fourm) an Iver Johnsons Hammerless Revolver.

It reads
    (top of barrel) Iver Johnson's Arms and Cycle Works, Fitchsburg, Mass U.S.A. / patd Apr, 6 86, Feb, 15 87, May, 10 87, Dec, 26 93 Pats Pending

(bottom of handle) B 20795 (no Numbers under grips)

The Barrel is 3 in.

Seems to be small Frame

It seams to me(threw Info found on this site) it is a Small Frame Hammerless .32, 5 shot, Revolver.

Can you please let me know if this is correct and appx. age and value. Also is it safe to shoot?

Thanks
    Bubway

Attached Files:

2. b.goforth

b.goforth New Member

the B letter code on the bottom of the butt and the four patent dates indicates this is a first model small frame 32 S&W caliber safety automatic hammerless revolver manufactured in 1896.

FIRST MODEL SAFETY AUTOMATIC HAMMERLESS REVOLVER
    (Black Powder Cartridges)--------------------1894-1896