Once and for all: which has greater recoil, 9mm. or .45

Discussion in 'The 1911 Forum' started by ysacres, Mar 9, 2003.

1. ysacres

ysacres Well-Known Member

antediluvianist
    (1/23/03 8:37:18 am)
    Reply Once and for all : which has greater recoil, 9mm. or .45
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hello. I'm a newbie. Just six months since I bought my first gun - Taurus 4" barrel 7-shot .38Special. Needed something simple to start on , and a gun my wife won't flinch from. Purpose is home defense.

Now I want to buy an auto. Recoil is still a consideration. Have fired both 9mm. (CZ75) and .45 (Colt). Standard loads each. Yeah, 9mm. seems to have less recoil. I want my wife to be able to use this second gun too so recoil is important.

My question : some of you guys have written that in your experience the .45 has less recoil than the 9mm. What .45 was that?

Xracer
    *TFF Senior Staff*
    (1/23/03 9:39:06 am)
    Reply Re: Once and for all : which has greater recoil, 9mm. or .45
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Hi ADV......welcome to TFF.

.45 ACP has more recoil than 9mm.....period.

However, felt recoil can differ greatly from design to design. Such things as the weight of the bolt or slide, the distance and speed at which it travels, shape of the handle, type of grips, the shooter's stance and grip of the pistol, ect., can all affect the felt recoil.

For personal defensive purposes, I much prefer .45 ACP. However, for home defense, I'd recommend a shotgun.....pump or auto. It doesn't necessarily have to be a 12 guage either. If your wife can handle a 20 ga., that will do the job nicely. To a bad guy looking down the end of any shotgun barrel, it still looks like the entrance to the Holland Tunnel.

Im3rd
    (1/23/03 2:08:48 pm)
    Reply Once and for all