p14 brit drill rifle

Discussion in 'Curio & Relics Forum' started by xm774u, Aug 8, 2010.

1. xm774u

xm774u Former Guest

so i have a p14 drill rifle with a hole drilled in the chamber and every thing else
    is un touched i have a worn out barrel that would shoot but its very loose
    a bullit would drop down it . would you guys re barrel it or leave it as a wall hanger i have looked for years for a barrel and im not spending buku buks
    for a er shaw barrel or can i drill and tap the hole thread it and put a threaded
    case hardened bolt in it grind to fit and mig weld the bolt on the outside of the barrel . would a chamber reamer cut the bolt in the chamber ? the barrel
    is tight im just wondering if i used threaded plugs would it work and would
    the chamber reamer clear all excess metal assuming i welded the plugs and nothing moved i know the liability issues im asking a gunsmith i have never worked with reamers and i am a compitent welder or am i dreaming
  2. xm774u

xm774u Former Guest

would a chamber reamer fix my problem?
  3. Jim K

Jim K New Member

I have heard of that being done, but I strongly recommend against it. One probable result would be to ruin the chambering reamer. Another would be to leave a defect in the chamber that would keep the case from extracting properly.

And there is one more point to consider. It is likely that the rifle was "retired" for a worn out barrel, but there could have been other reasons and firing it could be problematical. I would leave it as is and use it as a decorator.

Jim
  4. xm774u

xm774u Former Guest

i agree but the barrel is like new ill wait a bit for more comments i will brob rebarrel it
    with the worn out one i was hoping though thanks for the opinion
  5. Jim K

Jim K New Member