Personal Protection Ammo

Discussion in 'Centerfire Pistols & Revolvers' started by DRB, Mar 27, 2012.

1. DRB

DRB New Member

I have a question with regard to personal protection ammo. I am coming to this forum to ask because so far I feel that I have received quality feedback from members on this forum... thanks.

I am still relatively new to firearms and am looking for opinions/suggestions about what to use as personal protection ammo. To date I have been practicing with 115 grain FMJ, primarily Winchester White Box. I have a Ruger SR9c and have read the ammunition section of my manual. It does not say anything about +P ammo so my first question is... can I use +P in my SR9c?

Second, does +P meet the U.S. Industry Standards that are referenced in the manual?

Third, what should I look for in personal protection ammo.

Thanks
  2. norahc

norahc Active Member

An hour's drive from the nearest McDonald's
    I don't know the answers about the Ruger and the +P ammo, so I'll leave that for someone else to answer. As to your third question, for personal protection ammo you will want a reliable hollowpoint such as Remington Golden Sabre, Federal Hydra-shock, or Winchester Silvertip.
  3. CampingJosh

CampingJosh Well-Known Member

+p is a designation that shows a round is above SAAMI specifications. For some rounds, SAAMI has additional +p specifications (including the 9mm). These usually are about 10% higher pressure than the "standard" specifications.

Ruger is known for building very sturdy firearms. It's almost certain that +p rounds will not damage the firearm, especially if you use it relatively infrequently (a small portion of your practice time and then carry for defense).

That said, I don't think the 9mm needs the +p ammo to be a perfectly viable self defense round. I prefer lighter, faster bullets in the 9mm (115 to 124-grain range) and the Hornady Critical Defense is my choice.

But Speer, Remington, Federal, etc. all make good self defense ammo.