Pet loads for .243 WIN.

Discussion in 'The Ammo & Reloading Forum' started by .270WIN., Sep 20, 2006.

1. .270WIN.

.270WIN. New Member

Hello everyone. This is my first post. I am new to the hobby of reloading. However, I have become bitten by the bug and would like to tweak my rifles now. I have a friend that reloads but lives about three hours from me. I was curious as to what (medicine) components you guys have found to be a successfull deer cartridge in this caliber. I am shooting a Savage Model 110. The shots will be from 100 to 300 yds. Thanks a million in advance and looking forward to visiting with you guys here on the forum.
  2. .270WIN.

.270WIN. New Member

Thanks popgunner for the input. I am thinking of going with a Nosler Partion in 100 grains. I definately want to use a bullet that won't fragment on me and think this would be a good choice. Someone else suggested the Trophy bonded bear claw. We have some big deer here on the lease.
  3. .270WIN.

.270WIN. New Member

Do any of you other folks have a particular "deer" load, that you are fond of in this caliber? I'm just trying to get various opinions and options here.
  4. stingrayzp

stingrayzp New Member

hi i use imr 4064 powder with 37.3 grs i use a cci primer and 85 gr bullet it has 3100fps/and the ftlbs is 1813 and i cut holes with this load the bukllets i use are sierra spitzer i have always had good luck with this load and bullet combo hope this helps mike
  5. LDBennett

LDBennett Well-Known Member

270WIN:

While it is fun to exchange reloading data, never use anyone else's load data unless you can find it in a reloading manual. Then use the manual recipe starting load and work up to and not beyond the listed maximum. Watch for signs of excessive pressure with every incremental change to the load or change in any component not listed as part of the manual's recipe.