The Firearms Forum banner

Pick-up brasss for .45 ACP and 9mm

3K views 21 replies 11 participants last post by  fightlivefree 
#1 ·
I am completely new to reloading, but because of the high prices of ammo I started collecting pick-up brass from various sources mostly shooting ranges.
I have the latest Lyman reloading manual and it expressly forbids the reloading of any pick-up brass in so many words because you don't know the pressures it was subjected to.

My friends shoot reloaded pick-up brasss so I am confused as what to do. The manual says to examine the cases you reload to look for signs of cracks, corrosion, over pressurization etc and these are the cases you already reloaded and have data on.

So should I reload pick up brasss or not? Can one be sure enough to examine the cases and know it's safe to reload?

#3 ·
I have the brass cases I collected and stored in my basement which is semi damp. Some of the cases are spotted with a green discoloration and some cases have dents on them from the ejector and others have dents on the mouth from hitting the ground. I throw out the really deformed ones.

Is it safe to reload these? How much of a dent is too much?

Thanks for the responce.

#4 ·
That is, really, something you learn from experience. Hard to tell you. But, as a general rule, if it's a rounded dent, and it irons out easily, I let it go. If the dent is more of a crease - if it has a sharp edge in it anywhere - that is asking for a case-failure, and it goes in the scrap-brass bucket. I will accept worse dents on the mouth of the case than I will in the body. Check the case before and AFTER sizing. Sometimes a body dent that doesn't look bad, will, during sizing, get worse.

I'd find a different place to store my brass. Damp isn't good for ammo, and corrosion (which is what the green is) shortens the life of brass.

#6 ·
Re: Pick-up brass for .45 ACP and 9mm