The Firearms Forum banner

pistol brass, loaded how many times?

4K views 15 replies 15 participants last post by  soundguy 
#1 ·
How many times can you reload pistol brass and be safe?

#2 ·
Until it cracks. There is no set number of time you can load a piece of brass. You just have to inspect them each time to make sure that are still safe to load.

I have some brass that I have been using for 30 years, I won't sit here and say that I have reloaded them dozens of times cause that wouldn't be true, but there is no telling how many times I have loaded them cause I don't keep records.

#3 ·
most are pretty low pressure and will last many many reloads.

I also load them until they crack/split or show any signs of splits. .45 ACP seems to last forever... Been loading the same 5000 cases of 45 for 15+ years with very few case failures.

#6 ·
Like said above, until you start to see splits in the case mouth but odds are good that you'll lose them before that happens unless you're shooting a wheel gun.

#7 · (Edited)
Average or light charge....
many,many times....

Heavy loads with more stress,
still lots of times.

Several factors will determine the life.
Even additives to tumbling media can
shorten the brass' life.

Tumble them, inspect them....
No stress or cracks, load em up.

#9 ·
I usually lose them before I break them. I have had some crack at the case mouth, and they get scrapped, but very tiny cracks. I'm just particular - life is too short to shoot bad brass. ;)
i go over my brass, especially rifle... with a fine tooth comb. That gun chamber is way too close to my face for any chance of having bad brass.